China and APEC 

In January 1989, during a visit to Seoul, Australian Prime Minister Hawk raised the initiative of convening a ministerial meeting on economic cooperation in the Asia-Pacific region. After consultations with relevant countries, the first ministerial meeting was held in Canberra, Australia from 6 to 7 November 1989. Foreign Ministers and Economic Ministers from Australia, the United States of America, Canada, Japan, Republic of Korea, New Zealand, Brunei Darussalam, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand attended the meeting. Thus the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) was set up.


In November 1991, the 3rd APEC Ministerial Meeting in Seoul issued the Seoul APEC Declaration that set the objectives of "Interdependence and common interests, to develop and strengthen the open multilateral trading system and reduce regional barriers to trade".


The regional organization has 21 members.


Relations with China:


Since its participation in APEC in 1991, China has fully taken part in various APEC activities in a spirit of cooperation and played an active role in the cooperation of APEC in recent years. Since 1993, the Chinese president has attended the APEC leaders informal meeting every year and put forward China's suggestions and clarified its stance, playing an active and constructive role in the success of the meetings. In 2001, China successfully held the APEC leaders informal meeting in Shanghai.