China and ASEAN

The predecessor of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) WAs the Alliance of Southeast Asia (ASA), founded in July 31, 1961. In August, 1967, Indonesia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Malaysia met in Bangkok and issued the Bangkok Declaration, which formally proclaimed the establishment of ASEAN. Afterwards, Malaysia, Thailand and the Philippines held ministerial-level meeting in Kuala Lumpur and decided to replace ASA with ASEAN.


Aims and Purposes:


To accelerate economic growth, social progress and cultural development in the region through joint endeavors in the spirit of equality and partnership.


To promote regional peace and stability through abiding respect for justice and the norms governing international relations and adherence to the principles of the United Nations Charter.


To promote collaboration and mutual assistance on matters in the economic, social, cultural, technical, scientific and other fields.


To provide assistance to each other in the form of training and research facilities in the educational, professional, technical and administration spheres.


To collaborate more effectively for the greater utilization of their agriculture and industries, the expansion of their trade, including the improvement of their transportation and communication facilities, and the raising of the living standards of their peoples.


To promote Southeast Asian studies.


To maintain close and beneficial cooperation with existing international and regional organizations with similar aims and purposes, and explore all avenues for even closer cooperation among themselves.

Member Countries

By 1999, the ASEAN comprised 10 member countries, namely: Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia, Myanmar, Laos and Brunei.


Relations with China:

China has established diplomatic relations with all ASEAN member states, and became the overall dialogue partner nation of the organization in 1996.