China's Administrative Territory Division System


The Constitution of the PRC stipulates administrative areas of China are divided as follows:


(1) The whole country is divided into provinces, autonomous regions, and municipalities under direct control from the Central Government.


(2) The provinces are sub-divided into autonomous prefectures, counties, autonomous counties, and cities.


(3) Counties, autonomous counties and cities are divided into townships and nationality townships. The autonomous regions, autonomous prefectures, and autonomous counties are all national autonomous areas. The central government in Beijing sets up the special administrative regions as needs warrant. At present, there are 34 provincial administrative units in China including 4 municipalities directly under the Central Government. There are 23 provinces, 5 autonomous regions, and 2 special administrative regions.