Greenland Halts Cooperation with Arctic Council
    2013-05-16 05:14:29     Xinhua       Web Editor: Mao Yaqing

Greenland had decided to suspend its cooperation with the Arctic council, the Greenlandic government said in a statement on Tuesday evening.

Besides, Greenland would boycott the biennial ministerial meeting of the Arctic Council, which was convened on Wednesday in the city of Kiruna, north Sweden, according to the statement.

"The cooperation with the Arctic Council has been a top priority for Greenland's autonomous government. To make such a decision is very difficult but necessary," it said.

Greenland and the Faeroe Islands, which lie in the Arctic Circle and High Atlantic respectively, are both self-governing territories of Denmark. Under an agreement with Denmark, Greenland gained full autonomy over its natural resources and internal affairs while Denmark still controls its foreign and defense affairs.

Until Sweden took over the rotating chairmanship of the Arctic Council in 2011, Denmark had kept three chairs at the Arctic Council negotiations table, with a representative from each part of the Danish commonwealth -- Greenland, the Faroe Islands and Denmark.

"Since autumn 2011, Greenland has been unable to sit at the negotiations table of the Arctic Council. It is on contrary to the past practice, as Greenland had been present at key negotiations since the Arctic Council was established in 1996," said the statement.

Some 230 people, including ministers, delegates from the eight Arctic states, representatives of indigenous peoples, scientists and observers gathered in Kiruna on Wednesday, which marks the end of the two-year Swedish presidency of the council.

Greenlandic leader Aleqa Hammond boycotted the event and did not go to Kiruna.

"We fear that this situation may continue during the next Canadian presidency. Therefore, I believe that we have to do something drastic," Hammond said to the Greenlandic newspaper Sermitsiaq AG.

The Arctic Council, founded in 1996, groups eight countries with territories in the Arctic area -- Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden and the United States.


            claims the copyright of all material and information produced originally by our staff. All rights reserved. Reproduction of text for non-commercial purposes only is permitted provided that both the source and author are acknowledged and a notifying email is sent to us. holds neither liability nor responsibility for materials attributed to any other source. Such information is provided as reportage and dissemination of information but does not necessarily reflect the opinion of or endorsement by CRI.


• A C4 Short: Top Secret Planning
Join us for a special look behind CRI's hilarious comedy news show.
• C4: Something About Someone Else
Join us for the latest episode of CRI's hilarious comedy news show.
In Depth

• China
China News
Chinese Press
• World
Middle East
• Video
Culture Heritage
Beyond Stardom
Dynamic China

Life 360
Panoramic Sports
• Radio
Ways to Listen
• Business
Editor's Choice
Biz Photo
Special Coverage
• Travel
Editor's Pick
What's in
On the Road
• Showbiz
Chinese Films
Music & Stage
Art & Literature
Photo Gallery
Special Coverage
• Language Learning
Ask Pingping and Jules
Chinese Studio
Elementary Chinese
Pop Charts
English News
English Snippets